About Estes Valley Crisis Advocates

Mission Statement: Estes Valley Crisis Advocates is a non-profit agency committed to providing advocacy services to survivors of crime and trauma including safehousing for domestic violence survivors, counseling, referrals and community education.

Our History: Estes Valley Crisis Advocates has been supporting the community of Estes Park and the surrounding areas since 1988. In response to growing needs for services related to domestic violence, a group of eight volunteers sought out training so that they could address the problem. In March 1989, they began working as advocates with the help of Alternatives for Battered Women, a Loveland group.

A year later, Estes Valley advocates were ready to stand on their own, and a volunteer director coordinated the program from her home. The organization became more professional in the 1990s. It received a grant from the Town of Estes Park, all the materials needed to run an office, and a salaried program director who worked under the direction of the Estes Park Police Department.

In 1997, the program became incorporated as Estes Valley Victim Advocates, Inc. It began to serve the entire Estes Valley including Glen Haven, Allenspark and Drake.

Today, an Executive Director works with one full time and two part-time staff to provide the agency’s services. Volunteers are a critical part of the organization, which operates 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

All services are confidential and free of charge.  Many of our clients would not receive services if they were required to pay due to their financial situations.  We rely on individuals,  foundations,  the City and other funders for the continuation of our services.

Estes Valley Crisis Advocates provides advocacy, prevention, community education, free individual counseling and support groups to survivors of crime (domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, burglary) and trauma (accidents, suicide survivors, unattended deaths). EVCA responds to individuals and to calls from the Estes Park Police Department, the Larimer County Sheriff’s Department, Estes Park Medical Center, Rocky Mountain National Park and other organizations that request  our services.

Board of Directors:

  • Chair: Shellie Tressell
  • Vice Chair: Susan Anderson
  • Finance: Pamela Vendegna
  • Secretary: Corey Pass

Board Members:

  • Alyssa Hansen
  • Naomi Hawf
  • Diana David Brown

Trustees: David Hemphill

Executive Director: Dakota Hankin